Doing a white ninja from the pity party for one

Following my horrendous knee injuring run on Sunday my mental demise was akin to a small child curling up into the foetal position. I was beyond bummed out. This happened:

Pity party for one: sugar & tour de france

Pity party for one: sugar & tour de france

However, today is Wednesday. Today was the day I got in to see physio Andrew at the Body Genius Institute. Today is a damn good day. Andrew poked and bent my knee around and is satisfied that the problem continues to be a fatigue issue, not an awful “pulled the tendon off the bone” kind of issue. The range of movement through my ITB and hammies is really good, quads are a bit tight, and over all it’s ALL ABOUT THE CORE WORK. That part at least was predictable. So, the training program continues in earnest (pending any major flare ups with my knee) …. except for the long runs and ultimately the half marathon in August. The fatigue sets in about the 10km mark so until I can get my core strength up over the next few months, long distances over 10km are out. I can still do spew worthy intervals. I can still do 25 minute 5kms…  I am on a training schedule over the next 4 weeks that will help me build up my core muscles before I can slowly venture out for some longer distances again. I’m ok with that. I don’t really have a choice. It’s do this, or don’t run a marathon one day….

Helpfully physio Andrew also told me that I haven’t injured myself from over use on a foam roller – I asked him this because I rolled myself stupid on Monday night and can still feel it today fml! My muscles are sore because they’ve never been foam rolled before. He also showed me how to work a tennis ball into my glute muscles. I think this one may raise my husband’s eyebrows…

Also I asked him about the whole standing work desk idea which seems to have gained some airplay online recently and it’s a “thing” … you can lose your fitness by sitting on your arse all day behind a desk. Who knew! Physio Andrew liked the idea of a standing work desk, but in moderation – he liked the idea of these:

varidesk

so you can stand and sit at various intervals during the day. The thingy goes up and down whenever you want it to. It even comes with a computer program that tells you you’ve been sitting too long and to get up off your bum and move around. I wonder if my boss would spring for one of these in the interest of good employee health and fitness?

2 thoughts on “Doing a white ninja from the pity party for one

  1. Good news! It doesn’t sound so bad at all Didi. If I can give you some advice – listen to your body. If you’re feeling tight, stiff or generally feeling like shit there is a good chance you should keep the exercise fairly light or don’t do it at all. I’m probably telling you shit you already know but it’s bitten me in the ass so many times.

    ps- if you’re enjoying the Tour de France you should probably purchase a road bike and then start swimming.. and then enter the triathlon season later this year 😉

    • Thanks Ryan, I’m getting more patient with my body but it’s so hard! I did whine at Andrew that I knew I shouldn’t have run but I did it because I love it and he understood 🙂 can’t make that mistake again. Slow. Steps…

Leave a comment